
    
 

This guide-sheet is not intended to substitute nor replace the advice of an attorney.  We strongly encourage you to 
consult with an attorney.  This guide-sheet is intended to provide you with information about filing Articles of 
Organization for a Limited Liability Company.   A Limited Liability Company ("the company") is formed in Utah 
by filing "Articles of Organization" with the Division of Corporations and Commercial Code, articles must be 
typewritten or machine printed.  
 
1. The articles of organization of a limited liability company shall set forth  (U.C.A. Sect. 48-2c-403): 
 
a. The name of the Limited Liability Company (must contain the words "Limited Liability Company," 
  Limited Company,"  "L.C." or "L.L.C."). 
b. The business purpose or purposes for which the Limited Liability Company is organized. 
c. The street address of its registered office in the State of Utah. 
d. For Non-Commercial Registered Agents: The Utah street address of the business entity’s initial 
 registered office and the name and signature of its initial registered agent at such address; the agent shall be a 
 person residing or authorized to do business in the State of Utah. 
 For Commercial Registered Agents:  The name of the commercial registered agent and the 
 registration number. A Utah street address is required. 
e. The name and street address of each organizer who is not a member or manager. 
f. If the Limited Liability Company is to be manager-managed , a statement that the company is to be managed by a 

manger or managers and the names and street addresses of the managers who are to serve. 
g. If the Limited Liability Company is to be member-managed, a statement that the company is to be managed by its 

members and the names and street addresses of the members who are to serve.  The Limited Liability Company 
shall at all times have at least one (1) member. 

h. Any other provision, not inconsistent with law, that the members choose to include the Articles of  
 Organization  (U.C.A. Section 48-2c-302(4)).  
i. The articles of organization shall be signed by at least one (1) organizer or one manager or, if the Limited 

Liability Company is member-managed, by at least one (1) member (U.C.A. Section 48-2c-204).  
j. A statement of duration MAY be provided (not required) but cannot exceed 99 years. 
 
2. Additional filing requirements: 
a. One (1) copy, originally signed, of the Articles of Organization, containing all of the information listed above.  

If the filer requests a copy of the Articles of Organization an additional exact copy of the filed document along 
with a return-addressed envelope with adequate first-class postage must also be submitted. 

b. The non-refundable processing fee of $70.00 payable to the State of Utah.  An expedited service is available for 
an additional fee of $75.00.  

c. You may file in person, by mail, or fax. Means of payment are, cash, check, or money order made payable to the 
"State of Utah".  If you are faxing you must include, on a cover sheet, the number of a Visa, MasterCard or 
American Express with the date of expiration. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

State of Utah 
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 
Division of Corporations & Commercial Code 
Information on Filing Articles of Organization for a Limited Liability Company 

Under GRAMA {63-2-201}, all registration information maintained by the Division is classified as public record.  For confidentiality purposes, 
you may use the business entity physical address rather than the residential or private address of any individual affiliated with the entity. 

http://www.corporations.utah.gov/contactus.html
www.corporations.utah.gov
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