
    
 
This guide-sheet is not intended to substitute or replace the advice of legal counsel.  We strongly 
encourage you to consult with an attorney.   
 
Under provisions of Title 12 of the Utah Code, no person or business may conduct collections without 
having first registered with the Division of Corporations and Commercial Code as prescribed by statute.  
Violation of Title 12 is a Class A misdemeanor.  If a collection agency is involved with collecting 
payments from consumer credit transactions, please contact the Department of Financial Institutions at 
(801) 538-8830 regarding requirements. 
 

Step 1: 
Make certain that your business organization is legally constituted. Your assumed business name must 
be registered with this Division; or if your organization is a corporation, limited partnership, limited 
liability company, it must be legally chartered by this Division. 

 
Step 2: 
Obtain a collection agency surety bond. 
Each collection agency must obtain a collection agency surety bond from a Utah licensed surety for a 
minimum sum of $10,000.  The bond must be for one year and it is the responsibility of the agency to 
renew the surety bond in 12 months to avoid violation of statute.  The full name of the agency principal, 
the business name, and the business street address must appear on the bond. Original must be submitted. 

 

Step 3: 
Complete an Application for Collection Agency Registration. 
The application must be typewritten or computer generated, if it is handwritten it will be returned.  

 
Step 4: 
Submit the completed application, your $10,000 surety bond, and non-refundable $32 processing fee. 
Means of payment are: cash, Visa, MasterCard or American Express, check, or money order made 
payable to the "State of Utah".  Original surety bond must be submitted. 

 
 
 
 
Under GRAMA {63-2-201}, all registration information maintained by the Division is classified as public record.  For confidentiality purposes, you 
may use the business entity physical address rather than the residential or private address of any individual affiliated with the entity. 
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