Utah - Life Elevated
Home Business Entities UCC/CFS Searches Other Services  

Collection Agency

A Collection Agency is a business that pursues payments on debts owed by individuals or businesses. No person shall conduct a collection agency, collection bureau, or collection office in this state, or engage in this state in the business of soliciting the right to collect or receive payment for another of any account, bill, or other indebtedness, or advertise for or solicit in print the right to collect or receive payment for another of any account, bill, or other indebtedness, unless at the time of conducting the collection agency, collection bureau, collection office, or collection business, or of advertising or soliciting, that person or the person for whom he may be acting as agent, is registered with the Division of Corporations and Commercial Code and has on file a good and sufficient bond.

You are always encouraged to consult an attorney to ensure appropriate consideration of all the legal implications of your choice of entity and filing. We stress that this filing website is not intended to substitute nor replace the advice of legal counsel.

All forms, guide sheets, and packets require Adobe Acrobat reader (4.0 or higher). If you do not currently have the free Adobe Acrobat reader software, it is available here:

Get Adobe Reader

Frequently Asked Questions
    You can register a Collection Agency by filing the application for a Collection Agency. Check the box Registration. Each collection agency must obtain a collection agency surety bond from a Utah licensed surety for a minimum sum of $10,000. The bond must be for one year and it is the responsibility of the agency to renew the surety bond in 12 months to avoid violation of statute. There is a $32 fee for this process.
    You can renew a Collection Agency by filing the application for a Collection Agency. Check the box Renewal. You will need to resubmit a collection agency surety bond or continuation certificate. There is a $32 fee for this process.
    You can make changes to or update a Collection Agency by updating the business entity that owns the collection agency.
    You can amend/merge/convert a Collection Agency by amending/merging/converting the business entity that owns the collection agency.
    You can cancel/dissolve a Collection Agency by writing us a letter of cancellation. The cancellation letter will need to include a statement by the owner of the Collection Agency that they wish to cancel the Collection Agency and it will need to be signed and dated by the owner as well. You may add whatever else you feel necessary to this letter.
    You can obtain copies/certificates of a Collection Agency by ordering them inhouse which can be done in person, in writing or by fax or email. If you make a written request you may use our order form. Written requests for copies may take up to 7 business days. You may view more information concerning ordering documents.
    You can find out who the principals are of a Collection Agency by contacting our office for that information.
    You can find out if the name I want to use for a Collection Agency is available by doing a business name availability search. You may also contact our office to verify that the name you want to use is available.

    You may also conduct a business entity search to see if there are other business entities that are already registered that may have a name similar to the name that you wish to use.
    Collection Agencys do not have a delinquent status.

    If a Collection Agency is expired, you will need to refile a new Collection Agency application.

Online Services
None at this time
  Laws
Utah Code -- Title 12 -- Collection Agencies
Forms
Collection Agency Application
Fax Cover Letter

Guide Sheets
Information on Filing a Collection Agency In Utah

Misc. Information & Websites
What Constitutes "Doing Business" in Utah?
Who Must Register with the Utah Department of Commerce?
Why Register Your Business?
Utah Business Licensing & Registration Guide
How to Start a Business in Utah
Business Name Information
Tips for New Business Registrations
Business Information Website
Service of Process Information
Links to other websites
International Association of Corporation Administrators (IACA)
Workers Compensation Information
Local Business Licensing Offices

ACA International (ACA), the Association of Credit and Collection Professionals

 

160 E. 300 S. 2nd Floor   Salt Lake City, UT 84111   •   Phone: 801-530-4849   •   Toll-Free: 1-877-526-3994   •   Fax: 801-530-6438   •   E-mail: corpucc@utah.gov