North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) – Business Purpose

October 25, 2021

What is NAICS?

NAICS, or the North American Industry Classification System, is a way to classify businesses using a six-digit code. Visit the official U.S. Government web site for in-depth information about NAICS, including the history and development of NAICS. You may find the NAICS Manual available for download on this page especially helpful.

A NAICS code begins with two digits that identify a business’s economic sector. NAICS has 20 economic sectors. Here are the 20 sectors with their associated two-digit codes:

• Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing and Hunting — 11
• Mining, Quarrying, and Oil and Gas Extraction — 21
• Utilities — 22
• Construction — 23
• Manufacturing – 31-33
• Wholesale Trade — 42
• Retail Trade – 44-45
• Transportation and Warehousing – 48-49
• Information — 51
• Finance and Insurance — 52
• Real Estate and Rental and Leasing — 53
• Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services — 54
• Management of Companies and Enterprises — 55
• Administrative and Support and Waste Management and Remediation Services — 56
• Educational Services — 61
• Health Care and Social Assistance — 62
• Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation — 71
• Accommodation and Food Services — 72
• Other Services (except Public Administration) — 81
• Public Administration — 92

The other digits in a NAICS code further specify a business’s activities.

How do I find my business’s NAICS code?

Go to and use the NAICS Search feature on the left-hand side of the page. You can search using a keyword or one of the two-digit sector codes above.


Go to and click on the two-digit sector codes to view all of the NAICS codes within that sector.

Remember: You are the expert on what your business does.

Next-Step Referral Guide

The Division is currently developing this resource. When it is complete, it will help business owners determine other state agencies that may regulate their business. More to follow!